Page 1





4/12/20
I finally started to catch up on my work. I completed the work of one class, so now I'm finishing French and English on Monday and Tuesday. I guess that I was overwhelmed with all that I had to do, I kinda slacked off and procrastinated. My first year of college is almost over though. My school ends the first week of May. Tomorrow, I pick my classes for sophomore year. I guess that I'll be sticking to nursing. I'm super nervous because I don't want my GPA to suffer because of the science classes. I mean, I was never bad at math, but I struggled to maintain a 'B' or better. Stats is the only math that I can tolerate. Geometry is meh and algebra is my weakest point.


4/07/20
I'm sooo behind on my school work. I mentally checked out once I had to leave campus but I thought that I'd pick my mojo up. Yeah, nah. I've been sleeping until 12 PM and going to bed around 4 AM. I want to complete my work but I have an essay due, a book to read, films to watch, and discussions to complete when I want it to be May already. I want this school year to be done! I have to sign up for my nursing classes next week and I'm excited to begin yet scared of how my GPA is going to be affected. Here I am, underestimating myself. I did well in my science classes in high school, so I don't know why I believe I can't do it in college. I struggled with chem, but I still maintained a good grade. Balancing equations almost ruined Chemistry for me, but then again, my teacher wasn't the best. She was super sweet but could not explain concepts well. I'm hoping that I get a great professor....that's all.


3/31/20
I am currently in my second week of online classes. It's been a gamble whether or not I like them. On one hand, I can go to school from the comfort of my bed but on the other, I don't want to get up because my bed is too comfortable. The coronavirus situation is stressful and saddening to hear and I'm wishing the best for everyone affected by its presence. My mom's hours got cut at work. Not sure how it's going to work for us. Our plans to move to Atlanta are put on hold, and I am having a hard time finding a job. I have little motivation because this situation is mentally and emotionally taxing. My internship was delayed (hope that isn't safeword for cancelled) and I'm having a hard time believing that my international school trip will take place in August. I picked the wrong time to pursue a career in nursing. I am thankful that I have a place to stay, no bills, and am a college student who may not be affected by the economic downturn but I still feel sorry for others who are less fortunate than myself.


3/22/20
Well, I did my job interview and they wanted to hire me but could not because I don't reside in Florida. What a bummer! I'm planning to be here until the end of the summer, but apparently, I have to be a resident of Florida -- ugh. I applied to some similar jobs in Atlanta, but I would have to work directly in the hospital which is not the best idea during this time. Such luck, I guess.

Imagine this: you get the courage to ask out that cute skater boy you see at the park >>> you have to move away for a few months because your school closed down due to the virus <<< you won't be able to see him until August at the earliest >>> the virus might last indefintiely <<< you lose hope because he might be unavailable by then <<< you remember his cute face and decide to go for it anyway because you're tired of being a passive b-i-c-t-h. I'm proud that I'm being realistic by not sizing my worth based on a man's opinion. Like, if it doesn't happen, it'll be okay. I hope. Gosh, he's sooo cute pleaaassseee let him by my boyfriend haha! I have not seen him in almost three weeks and now, it'll most likely be five months ahhhhh!!!

Guess who is also going to be a nurse, particularly focusing on women's health? That's right -- I'm in a program where I complete three years at my current school and my final two years at Emory University completing my Bachelor's of Science in Nursing degree! I will graduate with a B.S. and a B.A. and I'm so freaking excited! I feel as if I found my calling -- helping women while empowering us at the same time in the best way possible. I plan to work for reproductive justice on the side and freelance write. I don't know now if I should major in English or WGSS since I plan to be a Women's Health Practioner, but I also looovee writing as a side job.


3/17/20
School has been cancelled and is going to remain online for the rest of the semester. This is such a bummer. My first year of freedom has been unexpectedly cut short and I'm missing Atlanta so much. I'm upset that I won't be able to see my friends and skate at the skate park, but I know that we have to take preventative measures now instead of later. It's still a bummer though. I was just starting to make friends outside of my college and at the skate park and now, I'm not sure when I'll be back. There's a bright side though: I'm getting a job and I might be back in Georgia for a summer opportunity. I really hope that I'm hired.


3/13/20
So, I am off from school for two weeks. Well, we're moving to remote learning and I am not too excited about it. I loved being independent, studying in the library, and being away from my family but now, I am back at square one. I am staying with my grandma and I really hope that I will be able to move back, but other surrounding campuses have called it quits already. I miss Atlanta, I miss skating, and I miss being in a more liberal climate. This virus is scary, but what can you do?


3/11/20
Nothing major is going on in my life today. I applied for a writing internship with a nonprofit and I passed the first round. I have to complete a writing test to move on to the next stage. I miss skating in Atlanta, too. Where I'm at now is sooo boring and outdated. I have a small crush on this dude who I regularly see while skating, but I'm not at the proper stage to date. I haven't thought of my ex in a few days. I don't have the desire to become friends again. That's good. That's great. My teacher gave me an extension on my English paper due to some personal issues and I'm so grateful. I can't really concentrate. All I want to do is sleep, watch YouTube, drink sweet tea, and skate. Maybe even eat hot chip and lie.


3/09/20
My international trip was cancelled due to the coronavirus and it was such a bummer. I'm not sure that it is going to be rescheduled since the outbreak is going to get worse before it gets better. The trip has been rescheduled to either August or September, but that is only five months from now. Besides that, I am on spring break with my grandma. I have been helping her around witha sick family member's affairs. She cooked me a great meal. I haven't been this satisfied with my food since early January. My college's dining hall is tragic.


3/02/20
I went skating at the skate park and injured a part of my lip!!! It's swollen on the right side and I look like a fish. I fell several times, but I had the courage to skate the concrete inlines and go into the bowl, ruining my cotton pants. I now understand why loose, heavy denim pants are preferred to skate in. While leaving, a group of guys tried to race with me on bicycles. Of course, I lost on my skates because I was bruised and tired. My muscles are super sore -- this is what I get for forgoing protective gear except knee pads.

On the bright side, I'm healing from my past friendship. I've been going out by myself and doing things with my roommate more! I've started to blame myself less and look at the situation from an objective point of view. I haven't gone out of my way to reach her by being at the same places where she is at (cafeteria and library) and I've started thinking less about the situation. I made the right decision by putting myself first.